cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
PeanutDealer
Advocate

Third party router

Hello,  I recently bought a TP Link AX5400 router, as I found the router that was provided (Now hub2) to be slow and cause issues.  I was hoping to use this new router with my now broadband internet but I have had a look around on forums and follow the set up instructions that have came with the router, which both haven't worked.  I am unsure of how to set up the router so that it works,  I am currently trying PPOE but can't find the right credentials to use and when trying no username or password it won't connect to the internet.  I am currently trying to use wireshark as some people have suggested but I have never used this tool before so I am unsure of what I am looking for.

Any help would be appreciated.

20 REPLIES 20
Jayach
Elite 3

I don't believe that router is suitable for DSL connections, as it doesn't have a modem.

If it's not this one Archer AX73 | AX5400 Dual-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi 6 Router | TP-Link United Kingdom, let us know what you have.

You could use it in AP(access point) mode, (assuming it has one) other than that it's not really suitable for Now.

PeanutDealer
Advocate

Thanks for the reply!

Yes I have the router that you linked and plugged into straight into the broadband line https://freeimage.host/i/HOV7pN2

Im not sure what you mean by access point to be honest but I would like to have 1 router connected to the broadband line with whatever else hanging out the back of that 1 router.

RoyB
Legend

@PeanutDealer 

See if you can send or take it back where you got it from, and tell them you need a modem/router suitable for use with a Sky/Now DSL connection. Which requires the MER 61 protocol.

If you told them you wanted it for Now when you bought it, then they have to change it; if you bought it on the web, you have up to 14 days to return it in, no quibble; otherwise you will need to ask nicely,