cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

No sound

Hi, I used a day pass for the first time on Saturday to watch the cup final. I had the game loaded on laptop but to get it onto a bigger screen I used a hdmi cable from the laptop to the TV. I got the picture on TV fine but only sound was coming from the laptop. I'm not very good with computers, I did have a play around with the sound setting on laptop and TV but couldn't get it working. Any idea what I need to do to get sound on the TV? Thanks!

17 REPLIES 17
Tony-D
NOW Team Member
NOW Team Member

@Anonymous User wrote:

Hi, I used a day pass for the first time on Saturday to watch the cup final. I had the game loaded on laptop but to get it onto a bigger screen I used a hdmi cable from the laptop to the TV. I got the picture on TV fine but only sound was coming from the laptop. I'm not very good with computers, I did have a play around with the sound setting on laptop and TV but couldn't get it working. Any idea what I need to do to get sound on the TV? Thanks!

Hi @Anonymous User This seems like a setting issue and nothing too serious. What you have to do is right click on the volume buttton down the bottom right hand side of your Laptop. Then selcet 'Playback Devices'. Then all you've got to do is click the HDMI or Digital Output option and then click 'Set Default'. Then press ok and all your sound should go through the TV from then on.   

Thanks

Anonymous User
Not applicable

This is not working on my TV either- I have tried what you said and Youtube and other apps are playing fine through my laptop to TV but Now TV isn't. 

Please help.

Rachael

SeeMoreDigital
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User,

When you connect your laptop to your television and play say, a Youtube video. Can you hear any sound on your TV?

Anonymous User
Not applicable

Thanks for repy Tony, I will give that a try next time the laptop is set up to the telly.