cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Just gone LIVE today and disappointed with the speed!

Hello.

I went live with NOW Broadband (Fab Fibre upto 38Mbps)  today just after 5.00pm.

But I am not happy with the download speed. I have just come to NOW after 18 months with PLUSNET (upto 38mb fibre) and my speed has been  consistently

over 32Mbps for the whole 18 months - sometime I would get speeds as high as 36Mbps.

Here is a screen grab of a speedtest done today at 4.09pm ( less than an hour before the switch to NOW)

The speeds I have been getting since the switch to NOW is 25Mbps!

This is NOT on wifi (I DONT USE wifi) this is via an ethernet cable direct from the NOW Hub.

here is a screengrab done at 7.30pm

Why the big diffrence in speed. Any reason why I should not expect to get a simalar  speed  to the one I have been geting from plusnet for the past 18 months?

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Tony-D
NOW Team Member
NOW Team Member

@Anonymous User wrote:

Here is the chrome speedtest:

Just checked your speeds on our side it seems to be a max throughput of 26Mb. I'm gonna run a few tests over the next few hours and send it off to our network team to see if we can get it back to normal. Very rare occurance this happens so hopefully we can get it sorted very soon @Anonymous User 

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User

This help article does say that the broadband speed fluctates for 10 days before everything should settle down. 

Maybe keep monitoring the broadband speed over this period.

https://help.nowtv.com/article/why-does-my-broadband-speed-vary-in-the-first-ten-day

This guide explains how to measure your access line speed between the local telephone exchange and the nowtv hub router.

https://help.nowtv.com/article/broadband-speeds-explained

Anonymous User
Not applicable

Thanks for your reply.