cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Apple TV - Good platform for Now TV?

I'm new to Now TV. Fed-up on more cost increases on Sky Subscription I can see that I can save a lot of money taking the Now TV route. 99% of our viewing is on Atlantic, Sky 1, Living and Fox so this seems perfect.

I have a PS3 and I've been using my 14 day trial on this, making sure it will be a viable alternative to a full Sky Subscription.

So far I know I'll miss the planner, but I'm sure I'll get used to it.

I see that Apple TV is the only hardware platform that can livesteam in 720p. I've got no idea why that is - but that has put me in a situation where I'm interested in this platform. I know I can get a Gen 3 Apple TV for around the £50 mark.

However, I'm reading some threads where the Now TV app for Apple TV isn't as avanced and I'd lose such features as "My TV" - is that the case? Are we simply waiting on an app update and do we know if that app update is going to happen?

So very basically, can people tell me if the Apple TV platform is good for Now TV. I'll be watching Atlantic, Sky 1, Living and Fox and for the majority of the time the catch-up will be fine, but would like the ability to live stream at 720p.

Will I be disapointed if I spend the £50 on an Apple TV device and take this route? Will the app on Apple TV be as good as it is on other platforms?

Cheers.

6 REPLIES 6
Anonymous User
Not applicable

The issue is IF you are actualy going to watch live because a High amount of users get used to catchup and boxset instead of watching live at all for New zero day TV and Movies content... 

Sport only offers live content.... But thats HD on console now... If you have got used to using catch up only on you Sky+HD box and not waching live to avoid adverts... then theres nothing on Apple TV that you can't get on console for NowTV...