cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Bill3
Mentor

Signal drop out

I’m new to Now Broadband Super Fibre as of today having switched from Sky.

I'm experiencing WiFi signal drop outs as close as next to the router and in some parts of the house (slightly further away from the router) picking up very little or no signal.

I’ve read that Now are unlikely to offer any solutions other than the usual ‘move the router’.

Before I start contacting them, is this still the case or is it worth speaking to them? I don’t want to miss out on my 14 day cooling off period.

14 REPLIES 14
gavs82008
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Bill3 

You could try splitting the bands incase the router is struggling to handle it. Which could be the case as the router from NOW isn't the best. 

https://help.nowtv.com/article/improve-broadband-speed

If you are able to use your own router you might find that to be way better. 

FYI that I do not work for NOW, just a NOW customer trying to help
RoyB
Legend

@Bill3 @gavs82008 

Splitting the bands, proffered here as a range improver, but by Now as a speed improver, is the tech equivalent of the man who blew on his hands to warm them, and then blew on his soup to cool it 😛

Set a Payment PIN on your account so that no-one but you can buy memberships on it.
Check your bank accounts monthly for any other unexpected payments to Now.
That way you can at least nip them in the bud, while you and Now figure out whose fault they are.
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Bill3 

Do you still have the Sky Router or did you have to return it back to Sky ?

If you haven't got to send the Router back to Sky then what model number is it ?

Where if it's a Sky SR203 Router this will be an upgrade over the NOW Hub 2 Router and will also work on the NOW Broadband service.

Worth trying if you still have the Sky Router.

Bill3
Mentor

Can you provide any guidance on how I’d get the old Sky router set up with Now?

schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Bill3