cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
filthyrich44
Advocate

Switching to Sky full fibre and keeping my landline number.

Hey, sorry if this is in the wrong category but I wasn't sure what other to go with. I am looking to switch to Sky full fibre from Now broadband but I was told by Sky that it was not possible to keep my current landline number as Now are owned by Sky and they couldn't transfer it for some reason. It is really important that I keep the current number. So I was wondering if anyone knew of anyway I can get around this. Can I transfer the number from Now to a voip provider then Sky could then take it from there or something like that I don't know. I am not really tech savvy so something like this I am really struggling to figure out if it is something that can be done and if there is any work around for it. My Now contract is up in the next few days so is not like I am mid contract or anything. I would not be looking to leave Now if they offered full fibre services, it is only that they don't that I am going to leave. Any help anyone can give me would be very much appreciated. Thanks

4 REPLIES 4
RoyB
Legend

@filthyrich44 

Transfer it to a VOIP provider and run it from there?

Find a full fibre ISP who will take it on?

Set a Payment PIN on your account so that no-one but you can buy memberships on it.
Check your bank accounts monthly for any other unexpected payments to Now.
That way you can at least nip them in the bud, while you and Now figure out whose fault they are.
filthyrich44
Advocate

Thanks for the fast reply. You don't know how you go about getting the number from NOW to be able to transfer it to Voip do you. Just didn't know if you have done it yourself. Thanks

RoyB
Legend

@filthyrich44 

Alas not; while we are on VoIP with our BT FTTP connection, we could not port our old number across. Though indeed, we didn’t want to, as we moved over a hundred miles away from that STD code 😛

A few things I do know;