cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
RoyB
Legend

The Drive-By Poster (with acknowledgements to Neil Innes’ Urban Spaceman)

With the sad demise of the YouView Community, which will vanish at the end of the month, my parody lyric here needs a new home, and the Now Community seems the ideal spot:-

I'm the drive-by poster, people; I’ve a need

Answer me with speed

I'm the drive-by poster, people; tell me why

This damn kit won’t fly

I don't get pleasure

I just get pain

How to make this kit reboot and run OK again

I'm the drive-by poster, people; tell me why

I won’t reply

I post in desperation with a frown upon my face

My natural impatience spills out all over the place

I'm the drive-by poster, I'm intelligent and keen

But is your answer seen?

I'm the drive-by poster, never make a second post

Was I just a ghost?

You won’t know if I fixed it

Or if I’m still a noob

Found another forum, or a vid out on YouTube

I'm the drive-by poster, people; here comes the twist--

I’ll make you p***ed!

Drive-by posters are the people who pop up here with an issue, to which the tireless volunteer unpaid customers who man the Community respond with a considered, often very detailed reply, and then - nothing.

There are others in the rogue’s gallery, of course, but the DBP is the most egregious. Please don’t be a DBP.

Sometimes, someone you think is going to be a DBP eventually comes back and replies - I think the record is about two months.

Sometimes, the posted reply you thought was wasted is picked up by somebody else, who thanks you for it - the record here is measured in years rather than months.

So maybe no postings are ever really wasted - until, of course, the Community containing them is shut down and deleted. All lost, like tears in rain. Well, as above, not quite all….

Set a Payment PIN on your account so that no-one but you can buy memberships on it.
Check your bank accounts monthly for any other unexpected payments to Now.