cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

NOW TV Boost not working in 5.1

Hi, I'm new to NOW TV and decided to get the stick as the app wont load at all in my Samsung TV, plus I spend quite a bit of time on the road (or at least I did before COVID-19), so it seemed ideal.

I also got the Boost add-on. 1080 is working perfectly, but no matter what I do 5.1 surround isn't working and it only puts out stereo (PCM) audio.

It seems to be an issue with the stick as I've tried it direct into the TV HDMI slot (I tried different slots) and direct into my Pioneer AV Receiver.

The receiver has a pure input setting which shows you what type of audio signal is being used and it's PCM (stereo).

It's not just an issue with the NOW TV app as the other apps like Netflix are doing the same, whereas when I use the Netflix app on my TV (not the stick) it's perfect 5.1.

I've tried all the suggestions I've managed to find, log out, switch off, log in etc. but nothing is working.

Any ideas?

Many thanks,

Simon

5 REPLIES 5
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User 

I am guessing you have gone into the Stick settings under Audio and tried the different HDMI audio combinations ?

Also somebody mentioned on the forum that they couldn't get Dolby Digital Plus from their Pioneer AV Receiver and the issue for them from memory was to play something with your NowTV pass, then press the star button on the NowTV remote controller and they played around with the volume mode on screen option until Dolby Digital Plus popped up on their AV Receiver display.

Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi @schnapps 

"I am guessing you have gone into the Stick settings under Audio and tried the different HDMI audio combinations ?"

Yes, several (dozen) times with every configuration.

"press the star button on the NowTV remote controller and they played around with the volume mode on screen option"