cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

No sound

Hi, I used a day pass for the first time on Saturday to watch the cup final. I had the game loaded on laptop but to get it onto a bigger screen I used a hdmi cable from the laptop to the TV. I got the picture on TV fine but only sound was coming from the laptop. I'm not very good with computers, I did have a play around with the sound setting on laptop and TV but couldn't get it working. Any idea what I need to do to get sound on the TV? Thanks!

17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Just tried using both HDMI ports with no luck. Thank you for the suggestion.

SeeMoreDigital
Legend 5
Legend 5

Do other media playback devices plugged into your TV's HDMI ports pass sound okay?

Anonymous User
Not applicable

The only device we have connected to the TV since getting it is a DVD player which was using a scart lead, sound was fine with that.

SeeMoreDigital
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User wrote:

The only device we have connected to the TV since getting it is a DVD player which was using a scart lead, sound was fine with that.

That's a shame... As somehow we need to ascertain that your HDMI ports are working correctly.  

commanda6
Legend 5
Legend 5

@SeeMoreDigital wrote:

@Anonymous User wrote:

That's a shame... As somehow we need to ascertain that your HDMI ports are working correctly.  

Hi @Anonymous User @SeeMoreDigital @Tony-D

I'm pretty sure I know what the cause of this issue is , although I can't say for definite

@Anonymous User this is going to seem like a strange question, given that you are having problems with audio, but what graphics hardware does your computer use. I'm asking because HDMI audio capability on computers is often treated as a video driver component rather than a sound driver component. Does your PC use Intel HD graphics, AMD or Nvidia?