Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

alternative routers

Hello

After just joining Now broadband

and having found a old sky q hub and plusnet router and was hoping get some help here in using one of these instead of the supplied hub 2 from now broadband

Im a complete newbie to all this so if anyone here has time or could help out it would be great

6 REPLIES 6
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User 

The old Sky Router should work on the NOW Broadband service.

if it's the Sky Q Hub model ER115 then it is a clone of the NOW Hub 2 Router and i doubt you will see any difference in performance.

Even if you have a old Sky Router, NOW will still send you their Hub 2 Router.

You can use the Sky Router if you wish (not sure if Broadband Buddy will work with it on your account), but should you need to get in touch with the NOW Broadband Team due to any internet issues then make sure you plug in the NOW Hub Router before hand.

You may also have to temporary plug in the NOW Hub 2 for your online account Orders & Appointments section to change the status showing live activation on your scheduled activation date with NOW.

My understanding the TalkTalk Router will not run on the NOW Broadband service (unless you use the TalkTalk Router has a wifi access point in conjunction with the NOW Hub 2).

Anonymous User
Not applicable

thanks for the info schnapps 

having looked at the hub 2 settings 

under ethernet set up

can you explain the settings between FAST ethernet and gigabit...as i am assuming the gigabit is the faster

and what is the energy efficient Ethernet setting ?? it is disabled by default but what if i enabled that ?...what difference would that do ?

schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User 

Gigabit Ethernet would be faster if the device connected to the NOW Hub 2 Router is Gigabit compatible.