cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Server capacity

Hello. 

I've noted on sports that premier league football is always a brilliant picture, but lots of pixalating on rugby league, and a fair bit on f1 today (more at start when there would have been cross over with other sports) 

I think its clearly server capacity. While I appreciate now do not want to invest in lots of spare capacity, I think whoever buys in capacity does not buy enough when live rugby league is on in particular. 

I'm no expert- but I presume now pay more for their content delivery provider to prioritise demand based on expected viewers- and for PL they buy in more than they need, but for rugby league and sometimes on other sports demand for watching is more than expected? 

I wonder if anyone could enlighten the board further. 

Also is 50 fps likely at all on Arena, Action and other channels? If so, how much extra server capacity is required compared to 25 fps? 

Thanks 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
gavs82008
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User 

To get 50fps for the 6 sports channels that currently offer 50fps you need to have a device that’s supported.

https://help.nowtv.com/article/what-is-now-boost

• Smoother sporting action: 6 Sky Sports channels – Main Event, Premier League, F1, Football, Cricket and Golf – are available at 50 frames per second (except on Xbox One & Series X/S and LG TV).

To find out when the other channels could get 50fps is everyone’s ultimate question. As it’s been over a year since the “Boost” launch, its anyone’s guess. 

You could always drop customer service an email to find out. Address is in the below picture.

2420F36C-DE7B-44C4-9A6B-05C5A1A4AC16.jpeg

FYI that I do not work for NOW, just a NOW customer trying to help

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
ukbobboy
Legend

@Anonymous User 

Hey SW