cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Now box plug sparking

I have a now tv box I have been using successfully for a couple of years. Suddenly this evening the plug started fizzing and went bang! And fused all the lights. Having re-set the fuse box I have tried other appliances in the same socket which seem to be fine so the plug of the now box seemed to develop a fault. Quite frightening and incredibly dangerous. Has anyone else experienced this?
13 REPLIES 13
caseyb1993
Legend 5
Legend 5

That is absolutely terrifying to hear @Anonymous User.

For safety's sake, please don't use the box again. I haven't heard of a message on the forum before about this happening. 

@Andy you are online, have you heard of this happening before??

I am not staff, I am a customer that likes to help,
so please click the Thank You/Thumbs Up button if I helped you out and maybe even accept it as a solution? 🙂
caseyb1993
Legend 5
Legend 5

As there are no NOWTV staff currently online, for now I would have a word with live chat.

https://help.nowtv.com/article/troubleshooting-now-tv-box

Click the link and then the green contact us button at the bottom of it.

Then select live chat.

Best on a PC/Mac.

A NOWTV staff member should pick this up tomorrow as well for you.

I am not staff, I am a customer that likes to help,
so please click the Thank You/Thumbs Up button if I helped you out and maybe even accept it as a solution? 🙂
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Thanks, I did speak to live chat who said because I hadn't bought the box from their website they weren't interested!
Andy
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User No, that's the first time I've heard of that happening on the forum, so I think unfortunately you've been unlucky and for whatever reason the power supply has blown. Your distribution board has tripped as a precaution on detection of the short circuit.