cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Boost on Firestick

Hi,  

Just signed up to Boost but disappointed with picture quality. 

I have the entertainment package and have looked at live channels. 

Sky News seems particularly poor.  

The number 989 appears on screen is this relevant?

Sorry, I'm a novice user. Was just expecting BBC or Netflix type quality. 

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User 

NOW streams take about 10 seconds to stream at full quality if you have a 12Mbps internet speed or higher with a Boost Membership.

If your Fire Stick is hovering around a streaming figure of 1000 or less and your internet speed and wifi signal is good or excellent on your Fire Stick.

Then if it was me i would be tempted to try a different wifi channel and wifi band on your Router.

If there is still no improvement after you have either tried a fresh NOW App download or cleared the NOW App cache, i would give the Google Public DNS server a go on your Fire Stick.

When using Boost on a Fire Stick and if the NOW content is labelled 1080p you should be seeing a streaming figure of around 8000 (subject to a good wifi reception on your Fire Stick and 12Mbps down speed on your internet).

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
gavs82008
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User 

In what manner did you take out Boost? Was it via the website directly?

https://help.nowtv.com/article/what-is-now-boost

I've upgraded to Boost but I'm still getting ads and I can't seem to see any improvement in picture quality. Why is this?

If you've added Boost via our website, your account could take up to 4 hours to reflect the fact that you've added it. To get around this, you can trigger your account to update by signing out of the NOW app and signing back in again.