cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Bad sound on Spotify

Was wondering if anyone else is experiencing extremely bad audio quality with the Spotify channel on NowTV Smart Box/Roku 4? It's like its distorted no matter what volume level its at. I have it connected to a surround receiver and have tried both HDMI and optical connections and the audio is still terrible. I have done all troubleshooting possible including swapping out cables, using different input ports, turning off all music enhancements on the receiver and using all sound modes, including the best one which is "none" and the audio still sounds terrible.

I have no coding experience but could it be specific to the app or could the NowTV just have really poor audio quality that's really highlighted by music and an external receiver? Although it still sounds bad on the TV speakers. TV channels sound ok.
I have heard mixed stories of who wrote and supports the Spotify channel, and it certainly is old looking and in desperate need of an update, but I'm wondering if anyone else has experienced this?

The Spotify app on Chromecast sounds much better on the TV speakers but I can't connect that to my amp.
I read the same problem was noted on the US Roku 4, but an update seemed to sort it out.
11 REPLIES 11
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User

Another forum member also mentioned this and when i tested it for my self the Spotify app through my soundbar to my ears it sounded fine.

Bit of a long shot, have you tried deleting the Spotify app in My Apps on the smart box and then reinstall the app again in App Store to see if there is any improvement with the sound ?

Anonymous User
Not applicable

@Anonymous User

Yes through a proper amp, it's a lot poorer than the iOS appSmiley Sad

schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User

Thanks for the info.