cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

5.1 surround sound

Hi All

I have been using now tv for several years via LG smart t.v.

I have a Sonos 5.1 setup which works lovely on amazon video and get full 5.1 output, however only get stereo sound on now tv app through same t.v.

I have noticed a dedicated now tv box is on sale and offers 7.1 sound, can i get 5.1 surround sound through my sonos system whilst watching movies using this box?

Simplified does now t.v broadcast movies in Dolby surround sound yet?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User

Unfortunately No, i watch NowTV on my TV with a 2.1 soundbase which is OK in my Living Room setup, where i avoid watching NowTV on my Projector with my AV Receiver due to stereo only & 720p where the picture is to soft on a large screen (Dolby Pro Logic Processing on my AV Receiver doesn't cut the mustard IMO once you have listened to the newer audio codecs).

Tend to watch Netflix and Amazon Video in my Cinema Room which offers 5.1 Dobly Digital Plus with my streaming subscription.

View solution in original post

15 REPLIES 15
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User

Unfortunately No, i watch NowTV on my TV with a 2.1 soundbase which is OK in my Living Room setup, where i avoid watching NowTV on my Projector with my AV Receiver due to stereo only & 720p where the picture is to soft on a large screen (Dolby Pro Logic Processing on my AV Receiver doesn't cut the mustard IMO once you have listened to the newer audio codecs).

Tend to watch Netflix and Amazon Video in my Cinema Room which offers 5.1 Dobly Digital Plus with my streaming subscription.

Anonymous User
Not applicable

Any ideas on if and when 5.1 surround sound will be offered?