cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

is there any way to replace the standard router?

Hi, is there anyway to replace the standard NowTV router, my major issue is that I am unable to add in any sort of the control over the times that certain devices can access the internet.

I had a BT router before which was great for this.

I've tried using the firewalll scheduler but it just blocks everything.

cheers

42 REPLIES 42
Anonymous User
Not applicable

I've tried speaking to them several times, but their "technical team" simply quote" we cannot support an alternative router"
I dont want them to suport it, I just want the connection settings - seems they are not very technical at all, and nobody can tell me what the settings need to be, even though OFCOM have told all ISP's they have to release the details.
I will be making a formal complaint to OFCOM. I will also move to another provider as soon as my contract ends on 20th November!
Shame, all I want to do is use my own router! Maybe its because, they lock down their routers to limit your bandwidth max download speed, and you cannot change it, and I KNOW I will get faster speeds from the line from when I was with BT before!

Anonymous User
Not applicable

My connection is ADSL2+ so not FTTC and not VDSL. I guess the NR801 router supplied by NowTV is capable of both (ADSL2+ & VDSL). My experience is that it is possible to replace this router with my own router. I sniffed out the username/password with Wireshark (udp.port==67 etc, I found detailed instructions online). All other settings as standard (PPPoA, VC, MTU=1500, VPI=0, VCI=38). My own router is rather old hat, running Acorp Sprinter LAN120 f/w from 2007 on Dlink DSL-300 h/w, really just standard AR7 and nothing special (except it allows me to set up Wake-on-LAN whilst NR801 doesn't). Anyway the above is sufficient for authentication, no MAC address spoofing is necessary.