cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

massive data usage for 2 films

Hi there,

Just recently bought a NOW tv box with free month cinema pass. I watched 2 films at the weekend and it used a massive 13 GB of my data allowance (which is not unlimited) and i only found out because BT contacted me to say i was nearing my monthly allowance.

Is it just movies that use up a lot of data? Or will watching iplayer, all4 etc use up a lot of data also.? 

Thank you in advance.

35 REPLIES 35
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi @Anonymous User

Thanks for contacting us. Anything that needs internet access to browse or stream will use up Data. The size of file and qaulity of the stream will vary with each program or movie and so will use more or less data each time. To answer your question though yes the iplayer and other catch-up services will use up data.

Thanks

Eddie

Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi, I am new to Now TV and I am also finding very high data usage with Now TV (I live in a rural location and my broadband is not unlimited).  I was wondering if there is a setting to reduce the download usage?  On netflix in My Account, you can change the download / streaming setting by selecting, high, med or low settings.  I have netflix on Low and the picture quality is still great but the data usage is less than half of the high setting.  Please can you let me know if Now TV has such a setting?  Thanks, Gez

Andy
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User Welcome to the forum. Unfortunately NOW TV don't currently have any user-settings to reduce data usage, so you'll need to keep an eye on your available monthly data when using NOW TV.

ukbobboy
Legend

@Andy @Anonymous User @Anonymous User

Hi Andy & Gez

Another forum member, @Anonymous User, posted, " Only 80% of the country now has a high speed service." which equates to 20% of the UK having either substandard or no access to broadband.