cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Upgrade from Now TV box to stick

Hi there

My Now TV box is a few years old and is starting to play up. 

Would Now TV upgrade me to a stick seeing as I have a subscription with them? 

TIA

8 REPLIES 8
gavs82008
Legend 5
Legend 5

@Anonymous User 

The short answer is no.

Currently the NOW stick is out of stock. And if your device is faulty they won’t replace it regardless of you having a membership or not. 

Your best option is to purchase an Amazon fire stick. They have proven to be the most reliable devices for the NOW app.

FYI that I do not work for NOW, just a NOW customer trying to help
starman73
Elite

@gavs82008 how is the fire stick proven to be most reliable?  I have had a few issues with it crashing while watching football in recent days, but have no issues with the Now TV stick.  Also the now tv stick has a 30 minute live/pause which the fire stick does not have.

FWIW the Now TV stick is available from Argos (with vouchers) and another good alternative are the Roku devices.   I prefer these as they are more established versions of the now tv app. And they cost no more than a fire stick.

https://help.nowtv.com/article/what-devices-can-i-use-to-watch-now

gavs82008
Legend 5
Legend 5

@starman73 

Well from the times I’ve used my Amazon 4K Fire stick for the new NOW app I’ve never had any issues with it. 
Whereas my Now stick is horrificly slow. 

So in my opinion a “live/pause” isn’t a thing I care about where all my viewing is on demand. 

Also with Amazon Fire sticks you can purchase an Ethernet adapter which I use as it’s more stable and reliable other Ethernet than Wi-fi. 

Anyway, each to their own as it’s all my personal preference. 

schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @gavs82008 @starman73 

Just my two pennies worth on the matter and i would also favour the Amazon Fire Stick if your budget can stretch and don't use the 30 minute live pause feature.