cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Voice search itv and bbc apps

Just migrated to a stick from a box for voice control and when I ask the stick to search, say endeavour, it only finds the Nowtv shows. I don’t have a pass and have the stick for the iPlayer and hub and want to voice search these apps. Is this possible?

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous User
Not applicable

I also have this question.

It’s a little bit disappointing to say the least when the stick is advertised as having voice search. I should’ve known that they wouldn’t implement it across all the different apps. Mind you I’m sure it is actually possible. 

schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User  @Anonymous User 

As you have found out the voice smart remote only works in finding NowTV based content or the basic launch of Third Party Apps such has YouTube etc.

More info here.

https://help.nowtv.com/article/how-to-use-voice-search

I am no software engineer, but i would have thought that Third Party Apps such has BBC iPlayer etc, there would need to be close cross party support between NowTV / Roku and the Third Party Apps software developer for the smart voice to function on other Apps.

Maybe NowTV / Roku are working in the background to integrate the voice search with other Apps sometime in the future ?

RoyB
Legend

@schnapps wrote:

I am no software engineer, but i would have thought that Third Party Apps such has BBC iPlayer etc, there would need to be close cross party support between NowTV / Roku and the Third Party Apps software developer for the smart voice to function on other Apps.

I am one, and you are correct.

If an app has voice search, you could go into that app, but would only get results from that app.