cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

No internet connection error 009

Hi

I am trying to setup a smart stick.  I have Now Broadband that gives out IP addresses via wi-fi and also my own router that has been set up to act as an access point.

I can connect the stick to both routers no problem but the stick will not access the internet through either device.  I have tried two different televisions just in case it was that (not that I can see how it would be).

I managed to find a secret menu where I could see some information.  It looks like no matter which router it connect through, the IP address it shows is not one that my router gives out.  My range is 192.168.0.x but the smart stick has IP address 10.0.0.x.

I can see that there is a manual IP configuration but there is no way to change this, only look at it.

As I work in IT I am pretty competent at configuring devices and in cases like this, I would use the static IP option.

Does anyone know how to change the static IP address or does anyone know what would cause the stick to have the wrong IP address?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User 

Bit of a long shot have you tried to use your smartphone has a wifi hotspot with the stick.

If the stick connects over wifi over your phone, then let it carry out any software updates.

Then once the stick has been setup and activated on your account, swap it back onto your router home network wifi.

Worth a try.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User 

Bit of a long shot have you tried to use your smartphone has a wifi hotspot with the stick.

If the stick connects over wifi over your phone, then let it carry out any software updates.

Then once the stick has been setup and activated on your account, swap it back onto your router home network wifi.

Worth a try.

Anonymous User
Not applicable

Hi

That has sorted it, many thanks