Reply
Champion 4
Posts: 7,522
Registered: ‎31-12-2013

Re: Error Code 1

It might be useful to move this entire topic into the forums dedicated 'LG Devices' sub-section Smiley Wink


• If I've been helpful please press the THANKS button • If I've been really helpful please also press the ACCEPT SOLUTION button • Please note: I'm not a NOW TV employee, I'm a regular NOW TV customer, like you! •

LG TV 1 = Model no: 43UH668V | Software: 04.30.70 | OS: webOS 3.31 • LG TV 2 = Model no: 65UH770V | Software: 04.31.10 | webOS •

All TV's = NOW TV app: 2.25.0 | Post Processing Features: All disabled  • Networking Spec = ISP: Virgin Media (75Mbps) | Devices connection type: Wired | IP address type: Fixed (device permitting) •


Occasional Poster
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎27-04-2014

Re: Error Code 1

Hi PaulD1

 

None of the suggestions in the link have fixed the problem. I have tried using a Now TV box that we use with the TV in the bedroom and this worked fine on the smart TV. I have a spare box so will be using this instead of the App on the TV. It's not an ideal solution but at least I will be able to watch Sky channels live.

Champion 4
Posts: 7,522
Registered: ‎31-12-2013

Re: Error Code 1

Bummer...

 

  • What's your LG televisions 'Model/Type' number and 'Software Version' number?
    [Which can be found via: Support '?' -> Product/Service Info.]
  • What's your NOW TV 'app' version?
    [Which can be found by launching the NOW TV app then visiting: My Account and looking 'top right' of the screen...]
  • If you have an NetCast OS based LG television, have you tried its 'Intialization of App' option?
    [Which can be found via: Support '?' -> Initialization of App]
  • If you have an webOS based LG television, have you tried deleting and re-installing the NOW TV app?
  • How is your LG television connected to the internet. Is it via a hard-wired or wireless (WiFi) ethernet connection?
  • Are you running any form of VPN (Virtual Private Network)?
  • Have you tried re-booting your router (by disconnecting the power, waiting 30 seconds and reconnecting the power)?

 

Cheers


• If I've been helpful please press the THANKS button • If I've been really helpful please also press the ACCEPT SOLUTION button • Please note: I'm not a NOW TV employee, I'm a regular NOW TV customer, like you! •

LG TV 1 = Model no: 43UH668V | Software: 04.30.70 | OS: webOS 3.31 • LG TV 2 = Model no: 65UH770V | Software: 04.31.10 | webOS •

All TV's = NOW TV app: 2.25.0 | Post Processing Features: All disabled  • Networking Spec = ISP: Virgin Media (75Mbps) | Devices connection type: Wired | IP address type: Fixed (device permitting) •


Highlighted
Occasional Poster
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎27-04-2014

Re: Error Code 1

Hi,

 

Thanks for the reply. I got an error message today when I tried to start the Now TV app saying there was insufficient memory and to initialize. I've clicked on the initialize button, the TV restarted and I've been able to watch Sky 1 for more than 10 minutes without it freezing. It's early days and I don't want to speak to soon. If it starts freezing again I'll send another post.

Occasional Poster
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎27-04-2014

Re: Error Code 1

Started freezing again today. TV details are: -

 

TV Model 55LA660V-ZA

Software version 04.28.14 (show as the latest version)

Now TV App version 2.15.3

 

TV is connected with a LAN cable (I have tried using a different one).

I've reset the router, factory reset on the TV, initialisation of premium and initialisation of app and still doesn't work.

Occasional Poster
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎27-04-2014

Will Error Code 1 ever get fixed

Had buffering since January this year which comes up with error code 1. I've tried all the steps (resetting router etc) but still very poor streaming especially​ live tv. April was an improvement and I could actually watch live tv. It's gone back downhill again this month. I've missed most of Hawaii 5-0 and ncis Los angeles tonight.
NOW TV Team
Posts: 225
Registered: ‎30-11-2016

Re: Will Error Code 1 ever get fixed


Kemp911 wrote:
Had buffering since January this year which comes up with error code 1. I've tried all the steps (resetting router etc) but still very poor streaming especially​ live tv. April was an improvement and I could actually watch live tv. It's gone back downhill again this month. I've missed most of Hawaii 5-0 and ncis Los angeles tonight.

@Kemp911

 

Hi

 

Is it only the NOW TV app which the buffering occurs or is there any other apps on your TV which has issues?

Occasional Poster
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎27-04-2014

Re: Error Code 1

Only now tv has the problem. You tube / iPlayer etc work fine
Occasional Poster
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎15-07-2017

Re: error code 1

Keep getting error code 1 whilst watching through smart TV
4th time on current film !!!!
Any advise??
Champion 4
Posts: 7,522
Registered: ‎31-12-2013

Re: error code 1


Giggety wrote:
Keep getting error code 1 whilst watching through smart TV
4th time on current film !!!!
Any advise??

Hi @Giggety,

 

What's the make and model number of your 'smart' television?


• If I've been helpful please press the THANKS button • If I've been really helpful please also press the ACCEPT SOLUTION button • Please note: I'm not a NOW TV employee, I'm a regular NOW TV customer, like you! •

LG TV 1 = Model no: 43UH668V | Software: 04.30.70 | OS: webOS 3.31 • LG TV 2 = Model no: 65UH770V | Software: 04.31.10 | webOS •

All TV's = NOW TV app: 2.25.0 | Post Processing Features: All disabled  • Networking Spec = ISP: Virgin Media (75Mbps) | Devices connection type: Wired | IP address type: Fixed (device permitting) •