cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Sky Sports picture quality (Smoothness)

Hello, 

I'm new to NowTV having recenlty ditched my traditional Sky package. 

I realise there's already tons of threads about this going back years but watching SkySports on NowTV gives me a headache. The picture is just not smooth at all. Especially noticable on football games and on SSN when the yellow ticker at the bottom of the screen appears. 

I'm watching via 3rd gen (2013) Apple TV, ethernet, BT Infinity and tried fiddling about with the TV settings as suggested in previous threads and setting the ATV to 720p @ 50Hz. Nothing makes any difference. 

Streaming BT Sport matches from the app on my phone to the ATV via AirPlay is perfect.

This is obviously something at NowTV's end as it's too widespread of an issue. Is there any definitive answer or solution anywhere or are they basically saying 'tough, if you want better quality then pay more and watch via satellite'?

17 REPLIES 17
schnapps
Legend 5
Legend 5

Hi @Anonymous User

You could try switching on your television motion processing picture settings and experimenting with different options in the settings (if your TV supports picture motion adjustments) or even try disabling the post processing on the TV by switching to Game Mode.

I doubt it will make much of a difference, where it sounds like (just the same has me) that you dislike the look & appreance of 25 frames per second (fps) broadcasts.

Where fast moving sports with rapid panning camera shots such as football, where i tend to find that the picture looks un smooth, un natural with little detail in the moving image.

I am hoping when NowTV offer 1080p HD sometime this year that going forward 50fps will be part of their Sports broadcast PQ specification. 

I find i have no issues watching movies or entertainment content at 25fps on nowtv, where i would like to see 50fps introduced for sports in the future.