cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Sky Sports picture quality (Smoothness)

Hello, 

I'm new to NowTV having recenlty ditched my traditional Sky package. 

I realise there's already tons of threads about this going back years but watching SkySports on NowTV gives me a headache. The picture is just not smooth at all. Especially noticable on football games and on SSN when the yellow ticker at the bottom of the screen appears. 

I'm watching via 3rd gen (2013) Apple TV, ethernet, BT Infinity and tried fiddling about with the TV settings as suggested in previous threads and setting the ATV to 720p @ 50Hz. Nothing makes any difference. 

Streaming BT Sport matches from the app on my phone to the ATV via AirPlay is perfect.

This is obviously something at NowTV's end as it's too widespread of an issue. Is there any definitive answer or solution anywhere or are they basically saying 'tough, if you want better quality then pay more and watch via satellite'?

17 REPLIES 17
Anonymous User
Not applicable

@starman73

The main sites I used were: AV Forums (which is very reliable and did a full review of my tv plus had a settings video up on Youtube with calibrated settings for Low light, Daytime, and HDR viewing), hdtv test, & digital foundry (although it's showing settings for gaming you just have to ignore the gaming specific settings and follow their actual picture settings). Combining the three, and with my own tweaks, has left me with a fantastic visual experience on my tv.

You may have guessed I'm a bit of videophile Smiley LOL

Anonymous User
Not applicable

Just thought I'd post an update.

Went and bought a NowTV Smart Box with the aim of testing if the Sky Sports 'smoothness' was due to watching through the AppleTV.