Is there a process of receiving a refund.
My father has vascular dementia and has been unable to use the service for the last year. Having obtained access to the account we can see that the service has been charged yet not used. How does the NOW code of ethics handle this situation
Now will know when a streaming account has been unused for a year, but they have no mechanism that auto-terminates such an account. Personally, I think they should send out an email after three months of non-use, and terminate the service after four, unless a reply is made requesting that this not happen.
But they don’t do this; and in a case like yours, Now won’t know the circumstances unless you contact them.
From this link, you can contact Now via Live Chat:-
(Avoid ‘Get Help Quickly’ if you are offered it on this screen. This leads to the Nowbot, an AI bot that won’t be much use in these circumstances).
However, Now may ask to speak to the account holder, which may present some difficulties here. Have you got a Power of Attorney to administer your father’s affairs?
For the Tv streaming service, if you know the username/password for the account, or can access emails for the person involved in order to re-set a password then you can cancel the TV service via the website under may account
For "Broadband" be aware that this also includes the phone service - what people refer to as the landline, canceling this may cause the phone number attached to the property to be lost and the phone service to also be disconnected.
While its possible to move the phone service to another provider that doesn't offer internet ie voice service only you will need to look around to see whats available and then again to see if it will save money .
One thing to be aware of: if you want to cancel the broadband service do not call the current supplier - ie Now as doing so may cause the number to be lost, and a loss of service.
The correct way is to contact the new provider and let them deal with it , once a number is ported then the broadband service with Now will automatically cease.