cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Anonymous User
Not applicable

Ofcom should ban Automatic Renewals

Now TV you sneaky thieves,

I've only just noticed, after several months of you taking over £30 a month off me that you have  automatic renewal as a default. 

You can read the small print to me all you want but the truth is automatic renewals are clearly designed to passively steal money from people who might not be particularly attentive or are too busy to keep an eye on such things. I hate you for this and I'm reporting your practices to Ofcom.

I work in the broadcast tv industry and will be talking about your scumbag practices to my colleagues. You low-life money grubbing losers.

What really irks me is that you design this system knowing that you will benefit from people who forget to switch off the renewal. It's so cynical.

I want a complete refund on the months other than my first month of use. You might want to consider that you sent me no correspondence or invoices for each of the subsequent months.

Mark.

29 REPLIES 29
RoyB
Legend

@Anonymous User 

NowTV can’t win with you, can they? 😛

Would you have preferred to sign up for a year, maybe, and be locked in?

Or if you actually wanted the service, to have to manually renew it every month?

But instead, NowTV offer a flexible, leave any time, no-contract service, and all you have to do is to remember to cancel the ongoing pass. 

The one where it clearly states, repeatedly, in the same size type as the rest of the description, that this is an ongoing service that will renew unless you cancel it.

Which is, of course, exactly what the vast majority of NowTV customers want it to do.

So you only wanted it for a month.... that’s fine, you could have cancelled it on Day One, and still got that. But you didn’t cancel, and so NowTV erroneously assumed you wanted to carry on.